What I love and hate about serving as a consultant

love hate

Talk about first world problems!  I love my clients as people. I love the projects. I love the missions.  I love working on strategyI love nonprofit technology.

In so many ways, my professional life is a dream.  But it can also be very sad, because I’m always worried about becoming the consultant’s version of the overly attached girlfriend.  I end up loving my clients so much that I don’t want to wrap up the project.

The truth is that I love being part of a team.  I love working with the same people over time, having an office that is somewhere other than my home, and having an organizational affiliation.  If someone hired me to be a full-time member of team, doing the work that I currently do, I’d be in heaven.  But it currently seems that being an independent consultant is my best option for doing what I love.

I’m not wrapping up any projects at the moment, but of course I’m wrapping up the year.  I want to pause and tell my past and current clients how much I love them. It really is a privilege to serve them.  In my mind, they’ll always be my clients, now matter how brief the project is or how long ago it was finished.  I also want to tell them that my separation anxiety is my problem, not theirs!

But most of all, I want to wish them a beautiful new 2013 – a year of peace, joy, prosperity, health, justice, and fulfillment of all their goals.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “What I love and hate about serving as a consultant

  1. Kathryn Engelhardt-Cronk 12/27/2012 at 10:56 pm Reply

    As a “client” I want to tell you that we think of you as an integral part of our team and we value and love you! You DO walk a tightrope, but, thankfully, you are willing and abe to do so and to be our very own CONSULTANT :). Happy New Year, Deborah.

  2. Deborah Elizabeth Finn 12/28/2012 at 11:17 am Reply

    Thank you so much, Kathryn, for this lovely response! You’re the paradigmatic example of a client I love and respect.

  3. Ashima Saigal 12/28/2012 at 11:17 am Reply

    Thought you might like to read this too Deborah .. http://blog.databasesherpa.com/2012/10/its-never-easy-to-say-goodbye.html

Leave a Reply

